Egg Sucking Bastard


All summer long I was on the hunt for which of my chickens was eatin eggs. In fact I got just a tad obsessive about it here on my blog, first in July with my pie in the sky hopes of “Caught the Bastard” continued with “Update Schmupdate” culminating in a little self examination in “Focus” . Well I’m off my meds and back on the trail of them damn Alien Inspired Evil Egg Eatin Bastards! This time I decided to go high tech and called up my BFF Hoss for advice.

Top of the line Game Cam

Top of the line Game Cam

Isn't Hoss one hell of a handsome fella? That's his Daughter Sidney with her Awesome Buck

Isn’t Hoss one hell of a handsome fella? That’s his Daughter Sidney with her Awesome Buck

Good ole Hoss knew just what was needed, a Moutrie MFH-DGS-D55IRxt is just the ticket he says. For a small consideration he hooked me up and man-o-man what a story that sweet little machine painted! It was a snap to set up and was I ever amazed when I uploaded those pictures.

 

 

 

 

Coop in the Daytime

Coop in the Daytime

P232-318-256-294-03ah-0467-c1-l055-02-0360-1080-0359-1079-000-LB00-1

Coming up empty again!

P135-256-256-256-030h-0312-c1-l063-02-0360-1080-0359-1079-000-LB00-1

Dusk

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

P068-256-256-256-035h-0312-c1-l062-02-0360-1080-0359-1079-000-LB00-1

The Golden Cuckoo Marans rooster Checkin things out

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So far everything is normal, no eggs, but normal…..Then:

I think I may have found the problem

I think I may have found the problem

Is there anything in there?

Is there anything in there?

 

Could be

Could be

 

Chomp Chomp

Chomp Chomp

 

Oh the Arrogance!

Oh the Arrogance!

So I think maybe technology may have won out again, I had been fooled for months by this evil critter blaming everyone and everything that came to mind. Is this the end of my quest in pursuit of those Damn Alien Inspired Evil Egg Eatin Bastards? Probably not, I’ve thought I had them whupped before but they just came back at me from another direction.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

12 thoughts on “Egg Sucking Bastard

  1. That’s a beautiful cat. Hope you can detur him/her w/o harm

  2. artsifrtsy says:

    Oh my – I just had diet pepsi shoot out my nose! So the culprit is found?

  3. No way! You tryin’ to tell us that your sweet lil kitty actually cracks then eats raw eggs? How’s that work? Who taught her that? Has Hoss’ daughter Sidney come on over with her gun yet? Sorry, I say leave the buck’s head attached to the buck and mount kitty’s head on your wall!

    • Max says:

      That ain’t my kitty and if I had my way Sydney would be locked and loaded out there right now! My sweety Karen says she’s gonna get a live capture trap from the humane society…. we’ll see.

      • Karen Carter says:

        Oh no shootin’ the kitty my dear husband….I thought I reprogrammed that genetic thinking. :)

  4. artsifrtsy says:

    Reblogged this on the eff stop and commented:
    My brother Max has been on the hunt for a culprit for months now. Who’s been stealing eggs? Mystery solved!

  5. What happened with/to the cat? That is/was a very pretty cat. What is one egg to spare. The cat was, I am sure helping keep the rodent population in check. They do love to catch mice/.rats.

    I found your blog via Val’s and I am not sure if I will like your blog or that you would you like a Texan’s blog about “animules”.

    The best to you any way this blogging thing goes.

    Yvonne

  6. Awesome! We’ve been trying to figure out exactly the same problem…wonder if it could be a cat…

  7. Jo Ann says:

    That’s really strange. I had barn cats and chickens for years and not one cat ever showed any interest in the eggs. Maybe the difference is our cats were well fed!

  8. […] Egg Sucking Bastard (thefruitychicken.wordpress.com) […]

  9. Pepsi shooting out nose here too! (Well, it my case it’s probiotic veggie beverage, but I’m weird that way.)

    I may need instructions for setting this sort of thing up in my teen son’s bedroom. Not exactly looking for egg snatchers, but sometimes you just need to catch the little fellers in the act, no matter who they are.

    The smoking gun, if you will. Or the smoking…whatever.

  10. That is quite a revelation! I have never heard of such a furry, egg-eating culprit. Smart cat, though.

Leave a Reply

Home on the Hill

Carrie's gardening and craft blog

WordPress.com News

Chicks and Fruits in Las Vegas

Comfy Posy

Who knew, right?

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking, Canning, And A DIY Approach To Living!

Blue and Yellow Makes

preparing for the post-apocalypse

Grow.Gather.Eat

Edible Literacy

kalegrower

Get Dirty!

Bygone Basics

Preserving our heritage, because we CAN

Emily's Vegetable Patch

Backyard Hobby Farmer

Suburbutopia

Life on the mini-farm, with just us, the neighbors, and the zoning code.

I hope this works....

If you don't experiment, you don't learn.

Full Hearts Farm

Growing the things we love!

The Angry Dwarf Dairy

Urban or Rural? Yes, please!

Shoreline Cluster Poets

building a creative atmosphere for writers on the Connecticut shore & beyond

:: in a mirror dimly ::

An imperfect and sometimes sarcastic perspective on following Jesus by author Ed Cyzewski.

Heritage and trail cooking

Just another WordPress.com site

1840farm.com

Living and Writing at the Intersection of Family, Food, and Farming

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 232 other followers

