Look what I found!


Digging around in the barn for something I decided to see what was in the loft and lo & behold look what I found!

What is this thingy?

What is this thingy?

It's a brooder!

It’s a brooder!

And it works!!

And it works!!

I had been using my Sweety, Karen’s, bird hospital cubicles as both hatcher and brooder. This practice had led me to rush my chicks into the juvenile pen after 2 or 3 weeks in order to avoid complaints about the odor. Now I can set up this brooder in the office of the new house for this season and then find it a permanent location when we move up the hill. I do need to figure out exactly how to set it up properly, temperature I get but this has a curtain that I ain’t quite sure what purpose it serves.

Two dozen eggs in the incubator.

Two dozen eggs in the incubator.

This find couldn’t have come at a better time. The half dozen eggs in the second row up from the bottom go into lockdown this friday, the next half dozen just above go into lockdown 3 days later, and finally the outer two rows go in a 4 days later. Hopefully within the next 2 weeks I’ll have a brooder full of fluffy butts and an empty incubator ready for the Cream Legbar’s and Basque hatching eggs Karen is teasing me with AGAIN.

Tagged , , ,

9 thoughts on “Look what I found!

  1. You have so much space and so many things that you could actually own a brooder and not know it? I’m amazed, impressed and horrified all at once.

    Congrats on the timely find.

    • Max says:

      The barn is on the first half acre we bought from my wife’s Uncle Royce’s estate about 5 years ago, that is where my orchard/chickens/garden is. We never cleaned out the barn, just fixed up the house so our granddaughter, Alexa, and her family could live there. Royce was quite a unique man and we stumble across treasures every once in a while.

  2. artsifrtsy says:

    That barn is a treasure trove ­čśä

  3. What a find! So much history for so many chicks.

  4. tbnranch says:

    Oh man! I’m totally jealous! What a great find!!!! Happy for you, :)

    • Max says:

      It was discovered at the perfect time too. I have 6 eggs in the hatcher that are due tomorrow, another half dozen that go in Tuesday and a full dozen that are due a week for Monday. Tomorrow the brooder is going to get a thorough cleaning and set-up. I still don’t know what the curtain is for or what kind of light bulb to put in it, but Brower said they sent me an instruction manual.

  5. patsquared2 says:

    Wish I had a barn and an attic! What a great find. And it works, too. It appears you were destined to raise chicks! Happy Easter Max. Enjoy the brooder and the babies.

Leave a Reply

Home on the Hill

Carrie's gardening and craft blog

WordPress.com News

Chicks and Fruits in Las Vegas

Comfy Posy

Who knew, right?

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking, Canning, And A DIY Approach To Living!

Green

preparing for the post-apocalypse

Grow.Gather.Eat

Edible Literacy

kalegrower

Get Dirty!

Bygone Basics

Preserving our heritage, because we CAN

Emily's Vegetable Patch

Backyard Hobby Farmer

Suburbutopia

Life on the mini-farm, with just us, the neighbors, and the zoning code.

I hope this works....

If you don't experiment, you don't learn.

Full Hearts Farm

Growing the things we love!

The Angry Dwarf Dairy

Urban or Rural? Yes, please!

Shoreline Cluster Poets

building a creative atmosphere for writers on the Connecticut shore & beyond

:: in a mirror dimly ::

An imperfect and sometimes sarcastic perspective on following Jesus by author Ed Cyzewski.

Heritage and trail cooking

Just another WordPress.com site

1840farm.com

Living and Writing at the Intersection of Family, Food, and Farming

Fresh Eggs Daily®

Chicks and Fruits in Las Vegas

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 229 other followers

