Chickens, Tortoises and Goats Oh My!


While Gooey is the lone representative of the “Goats” group we hope to expand our herd next year. It did finally dawn on us this evening that Gooey was behaving and not screaming constantly for the first time in about a month, I am pretty sure she just went through her first season. Lexi thought she was just trying to talk to the other goats across the street. :)

20131116-183833.jpg

Ajax on the other hand has 3 sorta siblings hangin out in the brooder tank. They are probably not going to remain permanent residents but they sure are cute.

20131116-184508.jpg

Last week my sister in law brought over a bunch of pumpkins that she had got for free after Halloween. She had cut them in half to get at the seeds and was just gonna throw out the rest. I knew the chickens would like them, especially after they got a bit funky, but Ajax surprised me. He devoured half a punkin in about a half hour! And he didn’t start from an edge, he started chomping right in the middle of the smooth intact outer skin.

20131116-185231.jpg

My Sweety, Karen, and I have been working on our new to us house up at the Fruity Chicken all year and are getting close to moving. This is quite a big deal for us seeing as how we have been in the same house for 27 years. I think we both though it would be easy because it gets us closer to one of our Granddaughters and gives us more room than we we’ve ever had during our life together. Leaving the little house in the barrio where we raised our three awesome sons isn’t turning out quite like we thought it would be. We will get there though!

Tagged , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “Chickens, Tortoises and Goats Oh My!

  1. artsifrtsy says:

    When is moving day? Can’t wait to see it in person.

  2. Hey! I hate moving so good luck and hope all goes well =) gooey is a Nigerian, right? will you be sticking with that breed when you expand?

    • Max says:

      It will be the first time Karen and I have moved since we got married 27 years ago. We were only 21 then and really didn’t have much stuff, it is a bit of a daunting prospect! Gooey is a sweet little Nigerian and that is what we plan on staying with, I think the plan is to breed her next year and keep a doe if we get one.

      • We love our Nigerians. Kidding is an awesome experience and the milk is delicious…not that I’m biased or anything =) I get cranky when I clean out a closet so I’m sure I’d be a wreck if I had to do that…Oh I meant to ask you about your fodder system. We tried one but our kitchen ended up smelling like a brewery gone wrong. How much time do you spend daily managing trays and stuff?

      • Max says:

        I apologize for not responding sooner, my fodder process has evolved over the winter and the plan is to do an updated blog post with pictures of how the “system fits into our new house. Looking at it objectively the time commitment per day is less than 30 minutes and realistically under 15 minutes. There are times that I take longer but that is just me fussing around with things that don’t need fussing with.

        P.S. we now have two Nigerian Does! We rescued one, but again thats a topic for an upcoming blog post.

      • you are now on the slippery slope of goat ownership…next thing you know you’ll be buying a buck and starting a dairy! =) My husband is building a full blown aquaponics system and so I think we will be devoting one full 4′ x 8′ raft to animal feed (everything from lettuces to strawberries) and possibly half of another raft. I’ll be blogging about it all along the way, but I know you raise comfrey and I’d be curious to know how you think it would do started from a cutting in a raft system. Also where did you get your plants? I would love to start growing some asap for my rabbits and goats. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Home on the Hill

Carrie's gardening and craft blog

WordPress.com News

Chicks and Fruits in Las Vegas

Comfy Posy

Who knew, right?

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking, Canning, And A DIY Approach To Living!

Blue and Yellow Makes

preparing for the post-apocalypse

Grow.Gather.Eat

Edible Literacy

kalegrower

Get Dirty!

Bygone Basics

Preserving our heritage, because we CAN

Emily's Vegetable Patch

Backyard Hobby Farmer

Suburbutopia

Life on the mini-farm, with just us, the neighbors, and the zoning code.

I hope this works....

If you don't experiment, you don't learn.

Full Hearts Farm

Growing the things we love!

The Angry Dwarf Dairy

Urban or Rural? Yes, please!

Shoreline Cluster Poets

building a creative atmosphere for writers on the Connecticut shore & beyond

:: in a mirror dimly ::

An imperfect and sometimes sarcastic perspective on following Jesus by author Ed Cyzewski.

Heritage and trail cooking

Just another WordPress.com site

1840farm.com

Living and Writing at the Intersection of Family, Food, and Farming

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 232 other followers

