Closing a few loops


My best friend’s son Cody had his first successful hatch today and I think he’s hooked. My recurring chore of hauling mulch went off without a hitch with the one exception that John wasn’t there to discuss whats going on with my pluots or to see my super duper silenced air gun. This weeks load of mulch went into the chicken coop, I had filled the bottom of the henhouse to a depth of 10″ about 3 months ago. In that time the depth had shrunk to about 4″ due to the girls scratching it out under the sides and natural composting action. The mulch had also reduced in particle size from large shreds down to pieces 1/2″ and smaller.

My Sweety Karen came out to practice her Photography skills at The Fruity Chicken Orchard/Chicken Ranch today while I puttered around. She did a much better job with her Olympus than I do with my I-Phone.

I finally got around to setting up my compost bins on the west side of the henhouse. The idea is that I can go out once a week or so and rake up the girls feeding area and dump it all in the bins. Just cleaning up the accumulated mulch, chicken poo, and dried up vegetable scraps filled up one of the bins. Every ten shovel fills or so that got dumped in were followed by two bucketful’s of vile smelling water from the duckpond. All indications are that this compost pile should heat up rather quickly so that in a week, maybe two, I should be able to turn it into the second bin and start refilling the first.

That vile smelling duckpond is also on my radar, I know that it is full of valuable nutrients just waiting to transformed into something useful. The first level that will be implemented in this system is the introduction of duckweed into the pond. For a couple bucks I got a plastic baggy of water and a little bit of green stuff. Truthfully I felt that I got ripped off till I dumped it into a bucket that I had half filled with water from my Koi pond. That stuff goes everywhere, in addition to the bucket I now have several plastic shoe boxes with it in it. I read that it doubles in anywhere fro 24 hours to 10 days, we’ll see. I do know that the little bit that I put into the Koi pond seems to have multiplied several fold overnight.

Over at The Soulsby Farm Blog they had an interesting article on rain gardens, now we don’t get a lot of rain out here in Vegas but the article did make me think that I could do something similar in the outflow from the duckpond. The same drip irrigation system that refills the chicken waterers twice a day also refills the pond and creates a small amount of out flow. The challenge will be finding appropriate plants that will be able to tolerate our scorching heat while having wet feet. If anyone has suggestions please let me know.

The theme of this post ties into my overall purpose in writing this blog. Now keep in mind that this a personal purpose not some bigger than the sum of its parts, gonna change the world kinda purpose. Am I a great writer like Sara over at A Scribe’s Tale? or an amazingly talented Artist/Photographer like my sister Lorri over at The Eff Stop? The answer to both questions is an obvious NO! What I am good at is putting concepts together. Thats what I am doing on my Blog. Stealing other peoples ideas, twisting them about, then talking about how I think these ideas are going to work in my situation, and finally documenting the success or failure of my efforts. Yeah I sometimes am trying to entertain, brag, stimulate, or maybe irritate readers. My core philosophy is to keep focused on the things I have control of and to make things better one little thing at a time.

In summation if you have ideas or are doing things that might help in my situation, please comment and let me know about it. Or you can just like my post, you can be sure I’ll surf on over and glean something useful to plagiarize.

Tagged , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Closing a few loops

  1. artsifrtsy says:

    Reblogged this on the eff stop and commented:
    When my brother Max and I were small our folks were asked to be God Parents to my Pop’s best friend’s first born son. We traveled to Winslow Arizona for the ceremony – it was the first time either of us were ever in church. A lady told us that we could not go forward with the other kids, but that we could sing. So we sang! Max sang the only song he knew – “Old MacDonald had a farm….” – loud and proud he sang. It’s no surprise that he has become a farmer. He raises chickens in Las Vegas Nevada and is planing an orchard in the desert too. His blog is thoughtful and informative and features his wife Karen’s (my traveling cohort) photography. Check it out – after all, it’s his fault I even have a blog…

  2. purpleowltree1234 says:

    I came here from the eff stop. 🙂 What a fun blog you’ve got!! I’m impressed you’re growing pluots. My ex has a big piece of land and he’s growing tons of fruit trees. He’s just started growing square peaches!! They are So cool!!! 🙂 We live in Australia. Looking forward to following your blog. Love your chook photos. 🙂 Miss D. X

    • Max says:

      Thanks for the kind comments. Isn’t my sister Lorri over at “The Eff Stop” talented?

      • purpleowltree1234 says:

        Yes she is talented!! 😀 Her Blog is one of my truly “happy places.” 🙂 And Karen’s funny too! 🙂
        Love from Rach

  3. purpleowltree1234 says:

    Just want to say I love permaculture, and olympus cameras can be awesome! 🙂 I’ve enjoyed looking at this Blog. Love from Rach 🙂

  4. putneyfarm says:

    Great blog…we like what you are doing. And can we be jealous of compost? If so, we are…

    • Max says:

      Can you ever have enough compost?….No you can not! My compost bin that I filled last weekend with the mulch from the chicken yard and water from the duckpond got hot real quick! I’m gonna turn it into my other bin then refill the original.

Leave a Reply

The Idiot Baker

(mis)adventures in the kitchen

Home on the Hill

A permaculture garden

WordPress.com News

Chicks and Fruits in Las Vegas

Comfy Posy

Who knew, right?

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking & DIY Living

kalegrower

Get Dirty!

Bygone Basics

Preserving our heritage, because we CAN

Emily's Vegetable Patch

Backyard Hobby Farmer

Suburbutopia

Life on the mini-farm, with just us, the neighbors, and the zoning code.

I hope this works....

If you don't experiment, you don't learn.

Full Hearts Farm

Growing the things we love!

The Angry Dwarf Dairy

Urban or Rural? Yes, please!

Shoreline Cluster Poets

building a creative atmosphere for writers on the Connecticut shore & beyond

:: in a mirror dimly ::

An imperfect and sometimes sarcastic perspective on following Jesus by author Ed Cyzewski.

Heritage and trail cooking

Just another WordPress.com site

1840farm.com

Living and Writing at the Intersection of Family, Food, and Farming

