A Day at The Fair


Karen and I are spending the day running her booth at Everybody’s Bird Mart at the L.A. County Fairgrounds in Pomona CA.

20120624-101606.jpg
We came down Friday evening and spent the day Saturday picking up supplies both that Karen needs for her business and for her booth at the bird mart. She probably thinks I haven’t noticed but she is employing her infamous “carrot & stick” tactics.

20120624-102414.jpg
After getting all of her running finished we went by Holt Garden Center in Chino, CA where she found me 2 nice Pakistani Mulberry Trees and 4 Comfrey Plants. The Mulberry’s are going on the west end of my orchard where they will serve many purposes. Being a rapid growing tree they should start providing afternoon relief from the brutal summer sun by next year, their long fruiting period (2 months) should distract the wild birds from the other fruit in my orchard, Karen loves he taste of mulberries and is looking forward to making jam, and finally the my chickens are gonna love foraging under them!
The guys at Holt Garden Center knew exactly what Comfrey was and had a bunch of it! The owner is Korean and apparently it is very popular in oriental herbal medicine. So now I have four big plants to put between the rows of my orchard, hopefully they will grow as well as sources on the Internet claim. Comfrey is a ” bio-accumulator” that accumulate’s nutrients and minerals in the soil that may not be readily available to other plants because of other factors such as alkalinity and through composting converts them to more usable forms. In addition it is supposed to grow very fast and chickens love the greens.

Tagged , , ,

11 thoughts on “A Day at The Fair

  1. artsifrtsy says:

    I need a couple of bird houses. Can you hook me up?

    • Max says:

      Karen said to tell you that 20 are in the mail! Seems birdhouses don’t sell so well at a bird mart, who’d a thunk it?

      • artsifrtsy says:

        Wow – I wouldn’t have guessed that. Seriously – I would like to get some. Hers are way cooler than what I can get at the hardware store.

    • Max says:

      Do you have any info on entry hole sizes? We got a few comments about them being to small, so I made up some BS about them being sized for the sparrows in Vegas and you had to keep them tight to deter the Grackles. The Mulberry Trees got more attention than the birdhouses, Karen kept trying to sell them to Middle Eastern Senior Citizens when I wasn’t looking!

      • artsifrtsy says:

        LOL – hang onto those Mulberries! I know that here they sell wren houses with a small hole – something near an inch. These are too small for cardinals. I was wondering if the titmice and chickadees would fit into those. I saw a bird condo yesterday evening with holes about 1.5″ – there were starlings as well as sparrows in those.

  2. twintoefarm says:

    How close are you going to put the comfrey to your trees? Is it a bush?

    • Max says:

      I have been thinking about that very issue all day. Comfrey is a perennial herb that dies back every winter, or so I have read. It is talked about a lot as companion plants for fruit trees because it accumulates potassium and other trace minerals from deep down due to its taproot. I’m still not sure where I’m gonna plant my 4 nice plants though. You got any suggestions?

      • twintoefarm says:

        No- I don’t know much about trees or comfrey. Good luck and please let me know what you find out.

  3. katsmama says:

    I love comfrey-you can cut it back a few times a year and use the leaves as mulch around my tomatoes. I have one plant right under my apple tree, and another in my orchard with a smaller apple and raspberry plants.

    • Max says:

      I have been pleasantly surprised by my four sad looking little plants. They sprang back and are growing great! My chickens and Ducks love it when I throw a handful of leaves in their run.

  4. solarbeez says:

    We planted comfrey about 35 years ago. Back then there was a little book telling that you could eat the leaves or make tea. We would stuff whole leaves into our mouths while working in the garden. One day we had a naturapathic physician friend tell us that something in the comfrey accumulates in the liver. Well we stopped eating it, but it still grows abundantly. It attracts the bees which also pollinate the blueberries and all in all I think it’s a great plant. It’s got a lot of medicinal uses as well.

Leave a Reply

The Idiot Baker

(mis)adventures in the kitchen

Home on the Hill

A permaculture garden

The WordPress.com Blog

Chicks and Fruits in Las Vegas

Comfy Posy

Who knew, right?

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking & DIY Living

kalegrower

Get Dirty!

Bygone Basics

Preserving our heritage, because we CAN

Emily's Vegetable Patch

Backyard Hobby Farmer

Suburbutopia

Life on the mini-farm, with just us, the neighbors, and the zoning code.

I hope this works....

If you don't experiment, you don't learn.

Full Hearts Farm

Growing the things we love!

The Angry Dwarf Dairy

Urban or Rural? Yes, please!

Shoreline Cluster Poets

building a creative atmosphere for writers on the Connecticut shore & beyond

:: in a mirror dimly ::

An imperfect and sometimes sarcastic perspective on following Jesus by author Ed Cyzewski.

Heritage and trail cooking

Just another WordPress.com site

1840 Farm

Living and Writing at the Intersection of Family, Food, and Farming

