Barney is Stressing me out!!


As all of my loyal readers are already aware of I have a batch of Barnevelder hatching eggs that are due to hatch today. If your new here you can read about my acquisition of these eggs in here: The Carrot and The Stick

I set 16 eggs 3 weeks ago but half of them candled clear at 2 weeks leaving 8 at lockdown last Friday. Last night I noticed one pipping and lo & behold I had one cute little Fluffy Butt waiting for me when I woke up this morning!

When I left for work there were 2 more pipping the thought of which kept me totally distracted all day at work. Karen moved Barney #1 to the brooder and let me know that Barney #2 was hatching and #3 and #4 were pipped. I hurried home expecting Barney #1 & #2 to be in the brooder all fluffed up and fine but that was not to be. Barney #1 is doing great but #2 has what I believe is a prolapsed vent, which basically means its intestines were outside. Hoping it was just the umbilical I snipped it off but it is leaking yellow bile looking fluid and I don’t hold out much hope for poor #2. Barney #3 and #4 appear to be doing OK though and I have moved them into the brooder. 

Above is from right to left Barney #1 #3 & #4 . Hatching chickens shouldn’t be this stressful!

Tagged ,

4 thoughts on “Barney is Stressing me out!!

  1. artsifrtsy says:

    I was hoping to hear about Barney – my calendar alert went off today!

  2. Max says:

    Barney #2 passed and Barney #5 didn’t make it out of the shell 😦

  3. 😦 Hope the majority of your little guys make it alright.

Leave a comment

Laura Rittenhouse's Gardening Journal

Keeping Track of What's Growing When, Where and How

Sharon Salzberg

Life at the fruity chicken

WordPress.com News

Life at the fruity chicken

The King of Isabelle Avenue

Tales from the hood

The Greening of Gavin

Life at the fruity chicken

the eff stop

Adventures of a shutterbug

The Fruity Chicken

Life at the fruity chicken

Crunchy Chicken

Life at the fruity chicken

Desert Horticulture

Life at the fruity chicken

Life at the fruity chicken

Beetle and Swan

Musings of awesomeness.