Remodel


In my ongoing battle against the evil egg-eaters infesting my flock I engaged in a remodeling project of the hen house today.

 

 

 

 

 

 

All of the nest boxes have been relocated and raised, as shown above there are now boxes on both walls instead of just along the one. The two blue ones are new, I’m hoping that their deep dark interiors will be less inviting to Nosy Nora’s looking for a snack. One of my White Cochin’s were caught pecking at golf balls in one of the relocated nests, she is now in isolation over in the Juvenile Pen. Ironically “isolation” is filling up quickly, along with the three hens I have caught red-handed pecking eggs there are four hens that were hanging out in the hen-house looking just a little to guilty and three “hens” that are in fact roosters.

 

 

 

 

 

 

This “fancy pullet” that Karen picked up from a feed store in Escondido was busy fighting with the criminals in lockup today, I’m not expecting “her” to start laying anytime soon. The pretty red hen on the right is very sweet but she ended up in lockup because she shows a bit to much interest in the nest boxes. For some reason my egg production in lockup has been very high, 5-6 a day, while in the hen-house I’m still lucky to get 1 and usually find 4-5 broken ones. That is what prompted me to change things around, I’m thinking that for some reason the new environment in lockup is breaking the egg breaking habit.

Karen has sucked Alexa into the baby nurturing obsession! Karen is already trying to subtly trying to inoculate me to the idea of her keeping that little baby African Grey, she thinks she’s being sly getting Lexi involved and oohing and awing over it’s white toes. Apparently that is some kind of significant genetic marker, it looks like alopecia to me. Her teeny tiny Quaker that she rescued is still hanging in there, it’s siblings are twice as large but Karen tells me that is due to the parents feeding them more frequently than she does.

Today was a good day, watching Karen share something she loves with our Granddaughter Alexa was a great start and even though it’s very muggy here a day working with my chooks is always a good day!

Tagged , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Remodel

  1. Annie says:

    Morning, Don’t know if this helps but I picked up a few ex battery hens that proceeded to eat every single egg they laid. I guess this is why they became ex battery hens. But i was told to save egg shells after we had eaten our eggs, then you put them in the oven to cook off any bugs, i usually leave them in until they dry (they have an interesting smell when cooked). When they are done you grind them to a powder in a food processor until almost a powder then give to the chooks in a separate bowl (you grind them up so they are unrecognizable as eggs). The first few times I did this the chickens annihilated it, and since then they pick at but it still goes. They haven’t eaten an egg since. So either it worked or it was just luck. But it is supposed to replace what they loose when the lay eggs (especially good for heavy layers), the two I brought home where starting to lay eggs with paper thin shells, so if you have any weird eggs around find the layer and you might have the culprit.

    Cheers and goodluck with the battle

    • Max says:

      Thanks for the tip. It made me think about something I had started doing this last week without associating it with my campaign against the “Evil Egg Eaters”. I had noticed the shells weren’t rock hard anymore, there are dishes of oyster shell available in the run but the girls had never showed much interest in it. So in an effort to get them to eat some I started putting the fermented feed they eat on top of the oyster shell and had gone so far as to sprinkle some on top of their treats saturday. I’m going to try the egg shells also, maybe all these little things together will work.

  2. BBQ? Always an option…

  3. autumnhike says:

    I commented on an earlier post about thinking that the chickens may be lacking a mineral if they are eating the eggs. I did a little research because you got me thinking back in time with your blog here. They might be lacking calcium, and/or vitamin D3, or might even have an infection if the egg shells are soft. This site has some ideas and information that might be worth checking it out. Hope it helps and Wish you all the best.

    http://www.wikihow.com/Keep-Chickens-from-Eating-Their-Own-Eggs

    • Max says:

      I have oyster shell out for them all the time but had noticed that the shells were getting a bit thin. I think that it is probably what started the egg eating behavior, a thin shell breaking by accident. I have started sprinkling the oyster shell directly on their fermented feed and in just a week have noticed the shells getting harder. Thanks for the advice!

Leave a Reply

The Idiot Baker

(mis)adventures in the kitchen

Home on the Hill

A permaculture garden

WordPress.com News

Chicks and Fruits in Las Vegas

Comfy Posy

Who knew, right?

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking & DIY Living

kalegrower

Get Dirty!

Bygone Basics

Preserving our heritage, because we CAN

Emily's Vegetable Patch

Backyard Hobby Farmer

Suburbutopia

Life on the mini-farm, with just us, the neighbors, and the zoning code.

I hope this works....

If you don't experiment, you don't learn.

Full Hearts Farm

Growing the things we love!

The Angry Dwarf Dairy

Urban or Rural? Yes, please!

Shoreline Cluster Poets

building a creative atmosphere for writers on the Connecticut shore & beyond

:: in a mirror dimly ::

An imperfect and sometimes sarcastic perspective on following Jesus by author Ed Cyzewski.

Heritage and trail cooking

Just another WordPress.com site

1840farm.com

Living and Writing at the Intersection of Family, Food, and Farming

