Does this look like a Cock to you?


The flock at the FruityChicken has really expanded but my ID skills, whether related to breed or sex, hasn’t improved much. So I am forced to rely on the kindness of strangers.1.  I know this one is a Golden Cuckoo Marans and am pretty sure it is a Pullet

 

2. This one is a Backyard Bastard and has very cute white earlobes and a blue tail

 

3. My Sweety, Karen, got this one down in Escondido. It was listed as a “fancy” pullet.

 

4. Another one of those “fancy” pullets from Escondido

 

5. Ignoring the EE in the middle I think the two black ones are Black Copper Marans pullets

 

6. A closeup of one of the suspected Black Copper Marans pullets.

 

7. This is another Golden Cuckoo Marans that I believe is a Cockerel

 

8. In this group shot I think I have starting at 12 o’clock a BCM pullet, 2 GCM pullets at 1, a White Cochin pullet at 5, GCM roo at 6, and finally a Buff Cochin pullet at the 9 o’clock position.

If there’s any chicken experts reading this please let me know what you think, If your not an expert your comments are welcome also!

P.S. Ain’t I got a pretty bunch of chooks?

Tagged , , ,

9 thoughts on “Does this look like a Cock to you?

  1. Those Black copper marans are just beautiful. I may get some next time. As far as finding a roo I reccomend what we did. Stand in the yard in the morning and wait for a crow…then seperate the one you think is the rooster and if the crow comes from the seperate area you know you’ve got the right bird. Let us know how it works out!

    • Max says:

      I have gotten rid of 8 Roosters in the last 2 weeks with that method, now I’m down to the stealthy ones! I need to post some pics of my BCM roo’s, they are gorgeous! Just to many. Out of 10 that hatched I only have 2 pullets, know anyone that wants a real purdy BCM roo near Las Vegas?

  2. I love them all – so cute – but have no idea what any of them are. Sorry, zero help but plenty of admiration.

  3. tbnranch says:

    Pic 3 & 4 – roosters. All the rest look like pullets. That’s my opinion of course, but the birds in 3 & 4 have a cape that falls from the neck and drapes over their back, and look at the size of the legs compared to the others.

  4. twintoefarm says:

    I agree- real nice looking birds.

Leave a Reply

The Idiot Baker

(mis)adventures in the kitchen

Home on the Hill

A permaculture garden

WordPress.com News

Chicks and Fruits in Las Vegas

Comfy Posy

Who knew, right?

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking & DIY Living

kalegrower

Get Dirty!

Bygone Basics

Preserving our heritage, because we CAN

Emily's Vegetable Patch

Backyard Hobby Farmer

Suburbutopia

Life on the mini-farm, with just us, the neighbors, and the zoning code.

I hope this works....

If you don't experiment, you don't learn.

Full Hearts Farm

Growing the things we love!

The Angry Dwarf Dairy

Urban or Rural? Yes, please!

Shoreline Cluster Poets

building a creative atmosphere for writers on the Connecticut shore & beyond

:: in a mirror dimly ::

An imperfect and sometimes sarcastic perspective on following Jesus by author Ed Cyzewski.

Heritage and trail cooking

Just another WordPress.com site

1840farm.com

Living and Writing at the Intersection of Family, Food, and Farming

