Steam Triumphs over Modern Technology!!!!!


A couple of weeks ago I read a blog post about boiling fresh eggs, I have hunted diligently for that post so I could link to it here but ain’t had no luck. Anyone that has chickens has run into the age-old issue of cooking hard-boiled eggs, FRESH eggs just wont peel after being boiled! It is frustrating. irritating, and ultimately enlightening. I don’t understand all of the science and ain’t got the motivation to look it up, but suffice it to say that if you leave your FRESH eggs in the fridge uncovered for 3-4 weeks they will boil up and peel fairly well. The older they are the better, what does that say about store bought eggs?!!!!! They are all labeled “farm fresh” but they sure peel good even straight from the store!

google-site-verification: googlebec50072b948063f.html

I had read all sorts of sure-fire process’ that are guaranteed to make your FRESH eggs peel reliably after cooking. In the past I had tried most of the ones using traditional egg in boiling water techniques, lots of salt, baking soda, vinegar, starting with cold water and rapidly chilling when done, cracking the shell once the water came to a boil to name some of the most popular. None worked reliably for me. Recently I had read that steaming your eggs worked like a charm so today I decided to find out. Additionally my wife had bought some funky device called “Eggies” for boiling eggs outside of the shells, she insisted I try them so I ran a head to head test to compare the methods.

The Software: 11 FRESH eggs (less than a week old)

The Hardware: Karen’s “Eggies” kit on the Left and a Pot, Colander, and Lid on the right.

For the Steaming method I put the colander in the pot and put enough water in to leave about a 1/2″ of space between the water and the bottom of the colander. The pot was put on the stove and brought to a full boil, then I placed seven eggs in the colander, placed the lid on, and set the timer for 15 minutes. When the timer went off only 1 had cracked egg. I separated them and left 3 to cool on the counter while the other 4 went into ice water.

Next I proceeded to set up the Eggies, What a pain in the ASS! After thoroughly reading the instructions, I cleaned the cups, lubed them, assembled them, then carefully cracked an egg into each of the 4 cups. They were then sealed, placed in the pot which was filled with warm water and put on the stove. When the water came to a boil I reduced the heat to a gentle boil and set the timer for 15 minutes as suggested by the chart on the back of the instructions. All went well which then led into the peeling and evaluation phase.

These are the steamed eggs after peeling. The shells slipped right off of the warm and chilled eggs alike.Above are the eggies after boiling, cooling, and opening. As you can see I broke the yolk on one of the eggs while filling the cups, that was my fault, I had forgotten how tough the membrane in duck eggs can be!Based on the results I would have to admit that both steaming and Eggies create a hard “boiled” egg that peels easily. But if you take into account the effort put into each method along with the aesthetics of the finished product Steaming wins hands down! The original recipe I read for steaming eggs said to steam them for 20 minutes but then I read several posts on the forums at Backyardchickens.com that claimed excessive cracking at that length of time and recommended cutting the time in half. More posts reported slight undercooking at the 10 minute mark, I like HARD boiled eggs with no iridescence left in the yolk but no green ring either, so I settled on 15 minutes and got perfectly cooked eggs with only one cracked.

I highly encourage all of my fellow backyard chicken owners to give steaming eggs a try and start enjoying easy to peel hard boiled eggs again!

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “Steam Triumphs over Modern Technology!!!!!

  1. Well, looks like I get a chance to experience this for myself. My area is now allowing up to 6 backyard chickens and I will begin this process after reading more and asking questions. If I can have 6, I’m bringing in 6. Have to take the Denver backyard chicken coop tour!

  2. YOU ROCK. I am going to try steaming next time, in my steamer and see how well that works.

  3. artsifrtsy says:

    I never knew you could steam them. My neighbor has been giving me fresh eggs and I guess it didn’t occur to me that it was freshness that made them hard to peel. Thanks for solving one of the worlds problems:)

  4. I will definitely try this. To be honest, I don’t often peel my boiled eggs though. I boil them for 6 minutes (which leaves the yolk runny) and the only peel the top. I put my egg in an egg cup and eat it with a spoon which guarantees the egg comes free of the shell. That said, I do sometimes like an egg salad or egg in my green salad so this approach is very appealing. Thanks for doing the experiment for all of us.

  5. twintoefarm says:

    Trying this.

  6. suzysenior says:

    Brilliant! I had wondered how old the eggs must be in the shop, and we eat the ‘homemade’ ones so fast that they never get old enough to peel properly. Looks like it’s full steam ahead on the egg mayo sandwiches from now on.

  7. Egg-cellent advice! We are just coming into summer salad season and I will be trying this method soon 🙂

  8. […] Steam Triumphs over Modern Technology!!!!!. Share this:SharePinterestFacebookRedditTwitterStumbleUponLinkedInEmailPrintLike this:LikeOne blogger likes this.  October 1, 2012  Side Yard Flock Categories: chickens Tags: fresh eggs, hardboiling eggs […]

  9. patsquared2 says:

    Love the scientific method you used! A long, long time ago, when I was 14 and working in a restaurant kitchen, an old chef told me how to make hard boiled eggs that were perfect. Set them in cold water, bring them to a boil. Boil for exactly 12 minutes, remove, cover with ice and cold water and chill them immediately. No gray ring and perfectly cooked eggs that peel easily and cleanly. I’ve been doing them this way for 50 years and only had a couple of tough to peel eggs….

  10. Thanks for finding and deciding to follow my blog.

Leave a Reply

The Idiot Baker

(mis)adventures in the kitchen

Home on the Hill

A permaculture garden

WordPress.com News

Chicks and Fruits in Las Vegas

Comfy Posy

Who knew, right?

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking & DIY Living

kalegrower

Get Dirty!

Bygone Basics

Preserving our heritage, because we CAN

Emily's Vegetable Patch

Backyard Hobby Farmer

Suburbutopia

Life on the mini-farm, with just us, the neighbors, and the zoning code.

I hope this works....

If you don't experiment, you don't learn.

Full Hearts Farm

Growing the things we love!

The Angry Dwarf Dairy

Urban or Rural? Yes, please!

Shoreline Cluster Poets

building a creative atmosphere for writers on the Connecticut shore & beyond

:: in a mirror dimly ::

An imperfect and sometimes sarcastic perspective on following Jesus by author Ed Cyzewski.

Heritage and trail cooking

Just another WordPress.com site

1840farm.com

Living and Writing at the Intersection of Family, Food, and Farming

