Fruits of my Labor


Today was a big day, I harvested and consumed the very first fruit ever from my orchard!

Mulberries fresh from the tree!

Mulberries fresh from the tree!

We had a big wind storm last night and this morning I found several ripe mulberries on the ground around my trees. This weekend I had noticed one or two were starting to turn colors but not on the tree I found these under. All total I found a good handful under the 2 trees outside the chicken run. They were very sweet but lacked any sense of tartness. Not exactly what I was expecting but very good for my first mulberries ever.

These were hidden in my #1 raised bed.

These were hidden in my #1 raised bed.

Sunday I had chopped and dropped all the cover crop/weeds in my #1 half-assed hugel bed, under all that muck I discovered 3 strawberry plants doing well with ripe fruit on them. The strawberries were a bit tart but balanced out well with the sweet mulberries.

I think we are up to a dozen now!

I think we are up to a dozen now!

Silkie Chickens

Momma sure makes it hard to get an accurate count.

While they aren’t technically “fruits” and I didn’t experience “labor” in their creation these little puff balls are definitely another milestone for my little endeavor. They are the first chicks produced by my girls without any outside assistance. I love my fluffy butts that are hatched out in my incubator but there is just something magical about these little puff balls.

 

 

Tagged , , ,

4 thoughts on “Fruits of my Labor

  1. artsifrtsy says:

    Congrats on the new flock and the mulberries!

  2. Congrats on the babies! we have yet to have any of ours get broody and hatch out babies, what breeds do you raise? mama looked like a silkie =)

    • Max says:

      Those are silkies and they are in our juvenile pen where the chicks I hatch out go between brooder and big boy pen. In the main run I have 3 Black Copper Marans roosters (want one?) a Golden Cuckoo Marans Rooster, 3 or 4 BCM hens, 3 GCM hens some Easter eggers, olive eggers, and several whatever my wife and grandaughter thought were cute at the feed store hens. I quit trying to count chickens but I am averaging 18 eggs a day right now.

      • that’s great that you have so many different ones! yeah that will be us in the fall…about 16 eggs per day is what we are thinking. Our easter eggers we almost all killed in a dog attack and we lost quite a few of our Australorpes…oh well, we learned and our new babies are doing well =)

Leave a Reply

The Idiot Baker

(mis)adventures in the kitchen

Home on the Hill

A permaculture garden

WordPress.com News

Chicks and Fruits in Las Vegas

Comfy Posy

Who knew, right?

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking & DIY Living

kalegrower

Get Dirty!

Bygone Basics

Preserving our heritage, because we CAN

Emily's Vegetable Patch

Backyard Hobby Farmer

Suburbutopia

Life on the mini-farm, with just us, the neighbors, and the zoning code.

I hope this works....

If you don't experiment, you don't learn.

Full Hearts Farm

Growing the things we love!

The Angry Dwarf Dairy

Urban or Rural? Yes, please!

Shoreline Cluster Poets

building a creative atmosphere for writers on the Connecticut shore & beyond

:: in a mirror dimly ::

An imperfect and sometimes sarcastic perspective on following Jesus by author Ed Cyzewski.

Heritage and trail cooking

Just another WordPress.com site

1840farm.com

Living and Writing at the Intersection of Family, Food, and Farming

