Narrow Crotches and Slime


My Mulberries are trying to be bushes when they are supposed to be trees, so this week I performed corrective surgery and amputated the extra trunk on each of my two largest trees.Mulberry #1 Mulberry Tree #1

Two different views of the first Mulberry Tree I planted in my orchard last spring. In the lower picture you can clearly see where I cut out the second leader.

Mulberry #2 Mulberry Tree #2

This Mulberry was planted mid-summer of 2012 and has done very well, again in the lower picture you can see where the second leader was removed. All 4 of the Mulberry trees I have are Pakistani Mulberries. I probably harvested 4 quarts of long, dark, very sweet fruit from the trees pictured above. There is still fruit on all 4 of my trees that look like they should be ripening over the next couple of weeks. We are really looking forward to next years production seeing as how even after cutting half of the tree off they are still over double the size they were last fall.

Butter Lettuce Bok Choy

Fodder production has been highly variable lately due to low germination rates and slime. I think the heat is finally interfering with my setup (we officially hit 100 F for the first time this year monday) and I am pretty sure my sweety Karen wouldn’t tolerate my dripping trays inside the house so it’s back to alternative foraging from my favorite oriental restaurant. The manager is super cool and even personally delivered this batch of greens for my gals. Fermenting though is really cooking in this heat, cranking out a good sour-smelling mash in 2 days easy. The flock is swelling again and I really do need to cull but aint quite ready yet…. I’ll get there though. Maybe when it officially hits 110 f for the first time this year?  Nahhhh probably not.

 

Tagged , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Narrow Crotches and Slime

  1. artsifrtsy says:

    Is it time to call the Santaria priest again?

  2. Your poor girls, forced to eat Chinese takeaway 🙂 Mine will not eat bok choi or lettuce – they want kale and broccoli and they hold out staring at me if I’m stupid enough to offer something less appealing to their taste buds. But I guess in a bigger flock like you have, it’s eat or starve so they even accept take away!

  3. taramijosh says:

    quite happy finding your blog, and thank you for sharing!
    my name is rafael and i also live in southern nevada(i hope you live in las vegas nevada, and NOT las vegas, new mexico, hahaha)am a huge fan of fruiting mulberries myself. I just ordered a bunch of gerardi dwarf, persian, and pakistani mulberries from burntridgenursery, and seeing your pakistani’s doing quite well make me anticipate with so much excitement re: my young mulberries.
    when you said your pakistani’s were being ‘dwarfed’ , how much vertical growth did they achieve after two years of planting.
    thank you for your time!

    • Max says:

      My mulberries are definitely not dwarf’s. I will post some updated pictures in a post soon, but my two that are in the prime locations (little to no shade) were close to 15′ tall this fall compared to 5′ the previous year. I pruned fairly severely trying to keep them at a manageable height for harvesting.

      • taramijosh says:

        thanks Max. Your updates and pictures will definitely influence my layout for the mulberries have ordered online. That pakistani mulberries could grow 15 ft tall after only two years is valuable knowledge for anyone thinking about where to plant them, especially if with constraints in yard space.

        quite excited anticipating more pictures of your plants.

        also noticed you replied to my query for Mr. Morris of extremehorticulture, giving insight on fruiting mulberries being available in star nursery over at pahrump.

        so forgive me for stalking you online–it is just that out of 2 million residents in las vegas– you are the first person i have come across who has first-hand experience raising fruiting mulberries in our climate/soil type. Even the most avid gardeners have met only have bad things to say about mulberries(because it is the non-fruiting ones they know of) and have never heard of fruiting mulberries.

Leave a Reply

The Idiot Baker

(mis)adventures in the kitchen

Home on the Hill

A permaculture garden

WordPress.com News

Chicks and Fruits in Las Vegas

Comfy Posy

Who knew, right?

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking & DIY Living

kalegrower

Get Dirty!

Bygone Basics

Preserving our heritage, because we CAN

Emily's Vegetable Patch

Backyard Hobby Farmer

Suburbutopia

Life on the mini-farm, with just us, the neighbors, and the zoning code.

I hope this works....

If you don't experiment, you don't learn.

Full Hearts Farm

Growing the things we love!

The Angry Dwarf Dairy

Urban or Rural? Yes, please!

Shoreline Cluster Poets

building a creative atmosphere for writers on the Connecticut shore & beyond

:: in a mirror dimly ::

An imperfect and sometimes sarcastic perspective on following Jesus by author Ed Cyzewski.

Heritage and trail cooking

Just another WordPress.com site

1840farm.com

Living and Writing at the Intersection of Family, Food, and Farming

