Olive Eggs!


My Very First Olive Egg!

My Very First Olive Egg!

Eggs5

The same egg but no flash.

I had read on BYC about Olive Eggers, chickens that lay olive colored eggs. The idea is simple, cross a dark brown egg layer with a green egg layer and Voila! Olive Eggs! I had hatched out pullets from green eggs that had Black Copper Marans roosters for daddy’s. I was a bit underwhelmed by what I thought was the results, some kinda dusky/dirty looking green eggs that didn’t even merit a picture. Today showed me what all the fuss is about. The BCM and GCM dark brown/red eggs are impressive but this true olive egg takes the cake.

None of these are white

None of these are white

Todays Haul with no flash

Todays Haul with no flash

 

Tagged , , ,

11 thoughts on “Olive Eggs!

  1. I am so envious.Those eggs are simply great. I wish that I were young enough to manage some chickens but alas I must concentrate on dogs and cats and one goat.

  2. I haven’t heard of this, how awesome. I wish our green egg layer hadn’t been eaten by raccoons!!! Now I may have to put up with a rooster for a short time in the future before eating him in order to get one of these chickens!!!

  3. artsifrtsy says:

    That is so cool – are you gonna eat it?

  4. whimgirl says:

    I love the variety. I ordered some marans for dark brown, but which are the green egg layers?

  5. So exciting! We’re looking to make some of our own OE’s this year too. Those eggs are a beautiful shade!

  6. I love the different colors of eggs. My favorites are the powdery blue eggs.

  7. Christie says:

    So beautiful! One of the best, kind of accidental decisions we made with chickens was to get girls who all lay different colored eggs. We’ve got an Easter Egger who lays green eggs that look similar to those (lighter, but similar). 🙂

  8. Chrystal says:

    Okay, those are GORGEOUS! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a comment

Laura Rittenhouse's Gardening Journal

Keeping Track of What's Growing When, Where and How

Sharon Salzberg

Life at the fruity chicken

WordPress.com News

Life at the fruity chicken

The King of Isabelle Avenue

Tales from the hood

The Greening of Gavin

Life at the fruity chicken

the eff stop

Adventures of a shutterbug

The Fruity Chicken

Life at the fruity chicken

Crunchy Chicken

Life at the fruity chicken

Desert Horticulture

Life at the fruity chicken

Life at the fruity chicken

Beetle and Swan

Musings of awesomeness.